When it comes to practicing massage therapy professionally, you will need to meet certain requirements depending on where you intend to practice. In 48 out of 5o states, you need some kind of credential to work as a massage therapist and each state has its own regulations. In 44 out of the 48 states previously mentioned (plus Washington D.C., Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands), you are required to take and pass the MBLEx to become licensed to practice as a massage therapist.
Also, licensure isn’t a one time thing. To renew your license, you will usually have to also complete some Continuing Education (CE) course hours.
In addition to getting and renewing your license, you will also have to follow the specific acts, rules, regulations, and laws of your state regarding the practice of massage therapy.
To become a Licensed Massage Therapist in New York, you need to complete 1000 hours of massage therapy school and pass a state exam.
To renew your New York license, you must complete 36 hours of CE within each three year registration period, some of which can be completed online.
Here is contact information for New York’s State Board of Massage Therapy:
New York State Board of Massage Therapy
89 Washington Ave
Albany, NY 12234
Tel: 518-474-3817, ext. 410
Note: Massage category is #27.